A small step towards.....

normalcy!  Got myself into the studio today....and very carefully started throwing again!   Richard kindly helped me prepare clay, which freed me up to do the throwing!

I am embarking on a new routine.....and hopefully an attitude shift! 

There needs to be a place where my aging body (yes i will finally fess up to this fact!!!) and my attitude about how many hours i can/need to spend in the studio, start to match up!   I've said it before and i will have to keep repeating this until i get it.....i am no longer the 40-50 year old who could make 100 mugs in a day and more.....much more!   I no longer need or want to be in the studio making a 100 or more mugs or bowls or whatever, in a day!   I have other adventures to attend to, other mountains to climb!    Found myself telling Terry that i only made 21 small bowls....and my next comment was 'that is so pathetic'.   how unkind of me! 

My new routine will involve spending time writing in what i am now calling my 'recovery journal' each morning, sort of like the Morning pages i did many many years ago, that helped me so much.   then stretching and warming up my muscles!   I have never been the kind of potter that spent time stretching etc., before plunging into the work.....mind you i'm not sure i know of any other potter that does do that, even altho we are all encouraged to do this.  

A new chapter begins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.