Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Skyfall? Rainfall!

What a deich day! However, with my humungous golf umbrella, I am actually in a wee microclimate, and not a drop of water lands on me. Except, of course, for my feet. Shoes and socks are soaked. Walking up the path across the Meadows is like walking up a wee stream. No use walking on the sodden grass. Therein lies slipping and sudden sit downs.

I have perfected my method of keeping dry while using my Canon Powershot, which can be used one-handed. I stuff my umbrella handle down the front of my jeans, thereby freeing my hands and keeping dry. I must say, stuffing anything between me and my jeans waistband is getting harder...

Nothing for it but to go to the afternoon screening of Skyfall. Now, I'm not a James Bond fan. I've not seen any since they sent Sean Connery out to pasture. But on a wet day, at £2, it's very tempting. I hope you don't think I'm a cheapskate, well, I am really, it's just that I like a bargain - why pay £10 to go on a Saturday afternoon, when you can pay £2 to go on a Wednesday afternoon? Plus the obligatory big bag of Maltesers, of course.

Skyfall? Escapist tosh. He kept doing everything wrong, and was an unbelievably bad shot. He had the baddies all lined up in front of his car and opened fire with machine guns. And seemed to miss them all! This happened every time there was a gunfight, but just as well the baddies were as bad as him! I don't know how he's our best secret agent. And I do think he should go to a different tailor - all his suits are a size too small, and his trousers are too short. Still, amazing stunts and some great filming.

I had hoped that the Evening Class people would ring again and say that the swimming pool was still out of action, to just stay at home on this cold night in front of the fire and TV and relax instead. There was a message when I got back in, and I was hopeful...

But no. Not them.

Which means that I will be donning my pink goggles this evening and plunging in. No - I forgot - we don't plunge in this absolute beginners class. We climb down the stairs sedately.

I am less than enthusiastic...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.