Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Saying Goodbye

I landed early this morning from Washington DC, raced home and had a sleep for a couple of hours only. By 1230 I was on a train to London where I went for a funeral.

This is Golders Green Crematorium. I went to support a friend who had lost a family member, though I also knew this well-loved elderly lady. She had requested to have her service here.

After the service we toured the beautiful and extensive gardens. The blossoms and the rhododendrons were both at their peak as well as many other amazing plants and flowers. It was a beautiful spot. The building is quite historic and there are numerous famous people who have their remains here, including Sigmund Freud, Marc Bolan, Keith Moon, Peter Sellers, Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Enid Blyton, Bram Stoker, Kingsley Amis and Sid James.

We had a delicious dinner at an Indian restaurant and after an Uber to Paddington and a train ride home, I finally walked in the door at 10pm. It was a long day but I’m so glad I was able to share the day with my friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.