Horse chestnut candle

There is currently a wonderful display of horse chestnut candles along the radiotherapy route. Here's one that I photographed this morning on the way back from my hospital appointment.

Back home again I spent half the afternoon on conference prep, and the rest of the time baking for Afternoon tea 2. This was a follow-up event to Colleagues for afternoon tea on 22nd March. I made a banana loaf, a batch of lemon tarts, and some mini-quiches. I also prepared a plate of sandwiches - half cucumber, and half baby tomato on pesto. As ever, Tunnocks teacakes and caramel wafers made an appearance on the table too.

Today's guests were my colleagues Frances, Laura and LyndseyJ, as well as Hugo, who is visiting us from Brazil. I invited Hugo to spend some time with my research group in spring 2018 when I visited São Paulo in March 2017. It is real a pity that his stay with us has ended up coinciding with my absence on sick leave. However, I was glad to see him today, albeit for just a short time off-campus.

Exercise today: walking (12,176 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.