The Pink Ladies in the Green, Green Woods

We've been in a wet pattern, weather-wise, and with the humidity hovering at about a thousand percent, my husband and I headed into the green, green woods. I was on a quest for just two things in the local gameland: red eft-staged newts, and pink lady's slipper orchids.

A local friend of mine has been posting wonderful red eft newt photos online recently. Newts cavorting! Newts posing! Newts looking zaftig and happy. Newts looking slim and saucy. He might as well hang out a huge neon sign: ALL NEWTS! ALL THE TIME!

Alas, I myself did not find any red efts out for a stroll in the gamelands on this day, but I did come across some pink lady's slipper orchids. I spotted my first lady's slippers of the year last weekend at my mom and dad's house. Located further south and east, they are usually a few weeks ahead of us there; but I figured ours would be blooming soon, too.

I was not disappointed! I found numerous lady's slippers lining the paths in a few of my favorite parts of the gameland. There are two in the photo above: one posing prettily, the other doing a version of trail yoga. I am sure there will be quite a few more blooms before they're all done. Something to look forward to!

The song: The Psychedelic Furs, Pretty in Pink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.