The King of the Penn State Herd

It was as beautiful a June morning as ever there was. The sky was blue, the sun was shining, and there was a lovely breeze. It was simply perfection, the kind of summer day that makes you wistful; one that's straight from childhood.

I do get out and about in the mornings, and this one was no exception. My travels took me to the Arboretum for a quick look at the flowers, and then I just had to stop for a few pictures of the horses across the road from Beaver Stadium.

I parked my car and walked back the gravel road behind the main barn, looking for colts, but I didn't really see any (though I did see some other very fine horses). As I walked back the road to my car, I realized I could get the stadium in the background of my shot if I got the angle right. That might be fun.

As I walked past, this big boy came out of his little enclosure and, just as I went to snap my shot, he bent his head down very nicely to eat some tasty grass. Snap! There's the shot. He looked like the king of the herd on a glorious June morning.

In other news, the flowers were also gorgeous at the Arboretum, and I've included an extra photo of a very fancy variety of clematis that is called Clematis 'Mazowsze' (a late large-flowered clematis). If you like purple-pink posies, you just might adore these.

The song is one I know I just used about two months ago, but I want it for this one: the Rolling Stones, with an acoustic version of Wild Horses.

Also related:
Meet Two New Members of the Penn State Herd

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.