Meet Two New Members of the Penn State Herd

The way that I most frequently drive to work brings me out onto Park Avenue across from the Stadium, right next to the horse barns. As I drove past the barns last week, I spotted two little foals out with their mothers. You know how I am: I had to stop to meet them.

The two little foals had just been born early on the morning of April 8, so they were only a few days old when I first met them. Since then, one additional new foal has been born, but I have not seen it out and about yet. (How do I keep up with Penn State horse news? I follow Penn State Quarter Horses on Facebook.)

On this morning, I decided that if I saw the foals out again, I'd stop for some pictures. And there they were. And so I did! Both of the little ones were out with their mamas. Just 10 days old now, they were racing all around, full of the zoomies! I guess they found their feet, and just like Forrest Gump, "From that day on, if I was going somewhere . . . I was running. . . . "

So my pictures for today are snapshots of two of the newest and most adorable members of the Penn State herd. The sorrel filly above, with a blaze, two hind socks, and a patch of white on each front knee, was born out of Festive For Certain, by Mechanic.

The solid bay filly pictured in the extras (whom I think of as "Happy Feet" due to the extended session of zoomies I witnessed first-hand) was born out of Hello Dollin, by PSU Dynamic Krymsun. Its father (you may see a photo of PSU Dynamic Krymsun here if you scroll down a bit) was one of the most beautiful horses I have ever seen.

So welcome, welcome, little ones, to this great big beautiful world! The soundtrack song was running through my head already, just like these two little fillies were when I first saw them: Dan Fogelberg, with Run for the Roses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.