The Day of the Dancing Heron

I took my first vacation day of the year, and my husband and I went to Bald Eagle State Park for the afternoon. I saw my first butterflies of the season. We spotted a very cool snail with lots of personality. We heard peepers at every pond.

We were sitting on a wooden boardwalk looking out over the mud flats where water used to be (they drain the lake down in winter), and I spotted a weird shape in the distance. I thought it was a branch sticking out of the water, but then it moved.

And then, as I zoomed in with my camera, it shimmied and bobbed. It almost seemed to be dancing! So here is my photo to represent what I will think of as the day of the dancing heron.

It's just a jump to the left . . . and then a step to the right. :-)

The soundtrack song: Rocky Horror's classic time warp dance scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.