Africa Oyé

is a superb free festival of African Music in Liverpool. I came seven years ago, loved it and have been wanting to return ever since. So here I am, very kindly hosted by the wonderful Folkiebooknerd

Sona Jobarteh is a Gambian kora player from one of the West African griot (praise-singing/(hi)story-telling) families. The tradition of kora playing has, for centuries, been handed down from father to son and I've heard men from three of the griot families playing kora in West Africa or in Europe. I never expected to hear and see a woman playing kora - a real treat.

Other highlights of the day:
Kasai Masai playing high-energy soukous music from Congo (Nickens Nkoso in first extra)
Marema (band-member in second extra)
Rocky Dawuni 

and a plain-colour screen behind the performers that entranced me by appearing to be kente cloth if you took pictures with a high shutter speed (third extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.