Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Africa Oyé - Day 1

Once again, it’s that time of year when Liverpool’s Sefton Park is filled with happy throngs dancing to a diverse range of music from Africa and beyond...

This year my work colleagues and I have our own stall (the ‘Headspace Hangar’) at the festival, offering free massage, reiki, art activities and henna tattoos.

I’m also playing host to the Blip legend that is Arachne, https://www.blipfoto.com/Arachne who’s up from Oxford for the weekend, hurrah!

I managed to sneak away from my work duties to catch at least part of the performances by:

Mim Suleiman from Zanzibar
Kasai Masai from DR Congo
Marema from Senegal
Sona Jobarteh from Gambia
Rocky Dawuni from Ghana

My pick of today’s lineup was the extraordinary kora player and singer Sona Jobarteh https://youtube.com/watch?v=PtmmlOQnTXM (you can see her amongst my Extras) but my favourite picture of the day is of this gentleman. He’s the bass player in Rocky Dawuni’s band and I found him quite mesmerising!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.