Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Central Library, Downtown, Los Angeles

Built in 1926, an exotic Beaux-Arts design by Bertram Goodhue. The tiled pyramid and Golden Hand holding the Torch of Learning were restored in 1987. The direction of the late afternoon light made the building really stand out.

Probably the longest day of my life, I haven't actually worked out how long it was. I was up at 0230 for a 0400 check in at Glasgow Airport. 0600 flight to Amsterdam, watch changed one hour ahead and then the 0950 flight direct to Los Angeles. Wonderful views across Iceland and Greenland on our eleven hour flight. Arriving at LAX, I put my watch back eight hours. Solid blue sky, temperature in the 80s.

After settling into the Downtown Hotel, we were taken on a walking tour of the area. I wish we'd had more time around here, particularly to visit the inside of this Library. Seemingly it's an Art Deco delight inside. More info here.

The huge high rises in the finance district, the Walt Disney Concert Hall, so much to take in. Everywhere was spotless, I didn't see a single piece of litter, quite a contrast to Glasgow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.