Dawn at 120 Degrees

Barns Ness Lighthouse, south east of Dunbar, East Lothian, at 0742 this morning. I have said in the past that I don't go out on photography trips, I go out on trips and just happen to take a camera. That is now obviously a Big Fat Lie.

Bigger Fatter Lie.

Yes, this was planned. The weather looked perfect, the dawn was 0730, and with the help of the Sun Earth Tools website, I knew that the sun would rise at 120 degrees, so I had a fair chance of seeing the actual sunrise if I got myself round to the east coast.

So, with more in common with fishermen than your average photographer, I set off at 0630 on the bike with my collection of gear and my wellies, and spent an enjoyable hour snapping away.

I've posted this one on Blip because it's most like what I was going for, but this is probably the better photo.

On the way home, flocks of turnstones were celebrating the morning in Belhaven Bay and I stopped to take some pictures of their very beautiful patterns.

More from this morning on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.