An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

"The Birth Of a Nation"

To coincide with the commencement of a second term of office for a black U.S President, I've simply photographed the DVD cover of a classic American movie.

Yes, 'Birth Of A Nation', the first true 'epic' ever made, WAS shown a very long time ago, in cinematic terms - 97 years ago - but as that cover illustration shows, of a Klux Klux Klansman on horseback, 'saviour' to a white damsel in distress, kidnapped by black slaves. Yes, less than a century ago, THIS was what popular cinema was about!

I watched this 3 hour film again, this morning, as I thought it very timely and posted a note on facebook and within minutes, there was a three-pronged debate fiercely battling on - and I was losing! This went on for almost as long as the actual film.

Somewhat simplisticly I'm aiming to illustrate the strides attained against racism in those intervening years, though one has to also admit much has still to be done.

So, yes a bit of a cheat of a Blip today, not because I had no other (I hadn't but could have easily taken one) but rarely can one make a statement so coincidentally to groundbreaking events.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.