HRH Prince Edward...

The Earl of Wessex...in Bath, this morning.

Never snapped a Royal before.

I've now found what it was all about!

Bath Abbey's press release

Possibly my favourite city to visit and photograph, I caught the first train, as the forecast was the best for a few days. Unfortunately, it hardly brightened at all, remaining mostly dull.

I had wanted to get all the lovely terraces set against gorgeous autumn colours and rolling hills, but after a good walk around, snapping away and just wandering around, I found myself back in the centre by the Abbey.

It increasingly dawned on me that something was going on as more police and security staff in one place than I'd ever seen, roads free of traffic and even litter bins taped up in plastic. After two young American women sidled up to a couple of coppers (policemen), posed for pics with them and then chatted to them for ages, I summoned up courage to ask what was going on.

Now, whether you follow Royals or not, or approve etc, I wouldn't have gone to Bath specially and if I hadn't found out or was miles away, I wouldn't have lost sleep, but as he was due in 20 minutes and an air of expectancy surrounding the Abbey, with TV crews, photographers and all the pizazzz of a really special Service about to go ahead with his HRH, I was more than happy to wait.

Eventually the procession was colourful, gowns and regalia, Mayors and dignatories, I recognised a Paralympian and Michael Eavis, founder of Glastonbury Festival and these were all far more photogenic than plainly dressed Edward, but as he was the main man, I had to have him as my Blip.

It might not surprise you that for this uncropped shot, I had drifted to where the pro's had congregated and shot over their shoulders. There were only four of these official snappers, some with lenses the size of flame-throwers - and little old me, with my Tamron SP 70-300mm VC!

You can always get good pics in Bath and anyone wanting a day out, a weekend away or just need to rejuvenate their photography would do well to get themselves down there. All my shots of Bath previous to this Royal excursion are now somewhat consigned to files on the Big hard-drive but as I said, Bath is always a pleasure.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.