An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Gorgeous Golden Grovely Beeches!

I feared that I wasn't going to get a decent autumnal Blip this year.

When I had gone out before, it was too early and everything was still green.

I now feared that nothing would be left. There was, thankfully, last Friday. Off to the lovely beeches of Grovely Wood using the bus ticket, to Wilton. Took flask and food so I was alright.

Finally, the late sun streamed through. Took the tripod so I could do the shots properly and to do them justice and to not have to compromise between shutter speed, iso and use the aperture needed, not the one that I could get away with.

Lovelier in LARGE

I'd be lying if I blatantly promised you all that this final image was straight from the camera. Sometimes nature needs a little help. Not as much perhaps as you might think and of course, you need a good original to retain a good result at the end.

EXIF data is wrong. I was keen to use the lovely OLD, battered, manual and pre-digital Nikkor 135mm f2. I even moved myself and the tripod back and fore to get the right distance rather than resort to the telephoto zoom I had also taken. The effective focal length of around 200mm (with DX camera) bunches up the lines of trees nicely and makes for a tighter, more compact shot but requires good depth of field to get it all sharp.

Because the camera was set to my even older 35mm f1.4 in the 'non-CPU lens data bank' that is how the data came out.

Big thanks for all the lovely comments and Hearts on my flock of seaside pigeons of yesterday.

AND! Good news - Derelict Thursday WILL be back later in the week. A few minor adjustments perhaps but otherwise, plenty of time for you all to stake out your darling derelictions!

Lens is Nikkor 135mm f2

One Year Ago - Royalty! See thumbnail below, right

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.