African violets

Today's the day ............................ to cheer up

This pot of african violets sits on my kitchen window sill. I see it every day as I wash up at the kitchen sink - and it never fails to cheer me up.

It's flowering for the second time this year - just at the right time to bring a bit cheer when there is very little in flower elsewhere. It's my favourite colour purple - and I love the way the petals are dark at the top and lighter at the bottom. And what a clever idea to put them next to those dark green hairy leaves.

But most of all I like it that it reminds me of the time when I bought it. We were away for the weekend with brother Ron and Margaret down in Norfolk doing all sorts of nice things.

Lovely memories on a wet, miserable, November day ..........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.