Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

I only have eyes for you...

Are the stars out tonight
I don't know if it's cloudy or bright
I only have eyes for you, dear

The moon may be high
But I can't see a thing in the sky
'Cause I only have eyes for you  - Art Garfunkel 1975 (among others)
The humidity finally dropped today along with the temperatures so I took myself out for a walk through a field of dragons.  Actually, the dragons were just an added bonus as the field was filled with milkweed in full bloom and droves of pollinators.  Which explains the presence of so many dragons since they are - ahem - partial to pollinators.  But I digress.


Today's image, taken with my 105 macro lens is a close up of a female Blue Dasher, one of the most easily photographed of all our dragons.  I usually take close ups head-on, but I really liked the way this side view came out.  To tell the truth, I didn't know that the compound eyes extended to the lower surface of the dragon's eyes.  Amazing what you find with a macro lens.  I have posted a close up of the male, with his piercing blue eyes HERE on FLickr if you'd care to have a look.  I was actually going to use him for my blip today, but decided I liked this view better.


I also found a host of other interesting insect including two different types of feather-legged flies, a dog bane beetle and a very odd little nymph (yet to be identified).


The morning was spent in the garden with the hummingbirds.  Just in the last few days, the number of hummers is increasing.  They are engaged in full-on chases, courtship flights and lots of antics.  I feel some hummie blips coming on...  It's time.


Cheers.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.