HareBrain

By HareBrain

Remembrance Sunday

One person who we will be remembering in particular today is Mr. T's Father who died in action in Italy in September 1944.  T was only 2 years old.

This is a page from the book I did for T for his 70th Birthday a couple of months ago.  The handsome chap on the white horse is my Uncle David.  Soon after meeting Mr T some 12 years ago we were talking about our respective families and it became apparent that my Uncle was in Italy at the same time as Guardsman Harris and in the same regiment (Coldstream Guards).  When I spoke to my Uncle about this he said he remembered T's father and knew he had been killed in action.  Such a coincidence that our families had a connection so many years ago.    

The actual picture of my Uncle was taken at Sandhurst in the late 50's when he was Adjutant.  In my youth I was mad about horses and riding (still am but don't do much now) and when I went to stay with  Uncle D and Aunt J  I was lucky enough to ride this beautiful white horse, "Daster".  Needless to say I didn't ride him up the steps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.