Views of my world

By rosamund

Robin

Had a wonderful end to a fabulous weekend today. We haven't really done anything exciting but we have spent lots of lovely quality time together generally chilling out.

Had an unexpected long lie this morning then Freya and I made a hearty breakfast of pancakes and epic hot chocolate for everyone. Some time was given over to chores then I started weaving the overshot design I am trying out on the loom. I had no idea how it would come out but I'm loving it and can't wait to see how the different samples will come out as I try the different colours and textures I have planned.

After weaving I spent some time in the garden doing a spot of cutting back and tidying. We have an oak tree at the front where I hang my bird feeders and I had to pick up all the leaves which seem to just have dropped in this last week. It felt good to be outside and I was pleased at my fitness level which has improved dramatically since taking up my exercise bike and losing nearly 2 stone. I got lots done and enjoyed the company of the wee Robin who came to feed on the seeds which fell to the ground from the bird feeder pulled apart by the greedy squirrel. It was so gratifying to see him pick up tasty morsels and enjoy them perched on the wall.

I always feel very connected to my family when I spend time in the garden and having my own Robin for company heightened that sense. My papa used to always have a robin or blackbird near him in the garden, usually perched on top of a spade or fork. My gran loved to feed the birds and she always had a bird table outside her kitchen window so she could feed them crumbs, cheese and the leftover pastry when she made apple pie. Auntie C is a prolific gardener and most of you are familiar with Uncle A's Dr Dolittle like relationship with all the wee birds that visit his garden. My big brother is called Robin so this one is for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.