Aargh!

After a painful and almost sleepless night I rang NHS24 for a wee chat and they referred me to the out-of-hours clinic at the Western to see a doctor. In spite of the lack of other symptoms (and me never knowingly having had chickenpox), turns out that the by now very painful rash is shingles. The afflicted area is almost a textbook copy of the dermatome for C2.3, it turns out.

I got given drugs and was back home in about two hours; impressively efficient. Although as soon as we got in I did get a follow-up phone call from the v nice but slightly absent-minded doc to say that she had given me an insufficiently high dosage of the anti-viral stuff. Dear Mr H trekked all the way back to the clinic for me to pick up pills of the correct size; meanwhile I checked up that the correct dosage really is an incredible 4 grams per day. They're working already.

You see here the original pack and the monster replacement. A dull photo, but preferable to a blip of the rash, I assure you.

And finally, a public apology is due to dear Ted, who it appears is completely blameless (and has now been rescued from the freezer). Hmm, maybe it was all triggered by HR....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.