Calke Abbey

I’ve counted butterflies for the past four or more years and one of my favourite spots for the Big Butterfly Count is Calke Abbey.

This year it was very different. There were lots of whites of all three main varieties, a couple of Meadow Browns but no Peacocks or Small Tortoiseshells anywhere to be seen.

Every time I’ve counted lots of Red Admirals but this year there were none, apart from one sole beauty in the nettles by a tree near the Church.

In total contrast, I’ve never seen so many Common Blues (and I couldn’t resist choosing one for my blip.) They were all on the two wildflowerbeds. I mentioned earlier in the year that the newer bed was fine but the older one was sluggish because of the excessive rain. Now, since the drought, the newer one has gone way over and is parched and straggly. The one they were concerned about is simply glorious.

Interestingly, they have not watered either of these beds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.