Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Poppy Skeleton

When I shot this I was thinking more about getting something to blip. On reflection, during post-processing, I realised this was Remembrance Sunday and symbolised by a red poppy. So here is a slightly unusual take on this.

Unlike others, whose moving accounts I have read for this day, my family has been relatively untouched by war. My Great Aunt's son was killed at the end of WWII in Burma, otherwise we, as a family, have come through unscathed.

Having recently acquired an interest in compiling the family tree, I find this fortunate indeed - it could have been worse as my Great Grandfather, on Mum's side, was a German immigrant along with other family members into Holborn, London in the 1890s. Yet as scientific glassblowers they were clearly held in some respect in the community and we are not aware of any prejudice toward them in either war, and my Grandfather contributed to the WWII war effort by helping to survey a sulphur mine in Wales to see if was worth re-opening - sulphur being an important ingredient in the production of munitions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.