Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

I'm not really obsessed...

November Challenge Day 14 - Flash

It's funny how a single word can conjour up memories from the past. In this case the word flash from KeithKnight's Daily Challenge bought to mind a childhood pet - a black tom cat who my sister and I christened "Flash" due to the fine white hairs you could see if you looked closely at his coat.

He came to us as a kitten, quickly making friends with our dog Bruno, who was part of the family long before we were a twinkle in our parents eyes. When Bruno finally went to doggy heaven after a long life, Flash moped for days, wondering where he had gone.

Years later Minnie, a tiny tabby female cat, took up residence. She had been ill treated by her owners and sneaked into our house to share his food. Flash tolerated her presence, and my parents eventually took her to a vets for treatment from the effects of her past life, and she became another member of the family.

The cats were not supposed to spend the nights in our bedrooms, but Flash had worked out that if he hid at the bottom of my wardrode he would not be seen. Many is the night I was awoken by a furry, purring face with slightly bad breath staring at me.

Which brings us to today's blip. I would love to own a cat, but realistically my current work and life style, with long hours out of the house and frequent days away, would not be fair on any animal. So instead I have a rather large collection of cat models. The triptych shows just three quickly selected locations from around the house - there are many more!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.