Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Still in profit!

I hot-footed it down to the camera shop today to swap my filter that I've been having trouble with. I was offered a full refund immediately. Or was it after I mentioned that I'd been to see Mark... Anyway, I swapped it for a fixed ND lens, although the one I would have preferred was a 'pro' one and £20 more, I took a non-pro one and got £20 back. Result!

It was a beautiful day, and my plan was to walk down the road and round by the duck pond to try out a few tips on photographing birds that Mark explained yesterday. Oh look! There's M&S! I popped in and picked some luscious meal for tonight, along with wine. I had my £10 out along with 14p for the bag.

'£14.75, thanks.'

'The plastic bag is £4.75?'

'This isn't a Meal Deal, it's a Weekend Deal. Buy a main, side and dessert and get the wine free'.

I think the staff at the checkout will be explaining that one a lot today for silly people who didn't read the very clear sign! It's still a very good deal. And anyway, I'm still in profit from my £20 back at the camera shop. I'll be able to go to the afternoon movies too, at this rate!

Walked round to the duck pond, but my hopes of lots of sunshine so that I could push the speed up did not eventuate, because in the winter the sun, even at midday, is behind Blackford Hill. But I did have fun. I won't tell you how many photos I took. And still found it hard to chose one. And not because there were too many brilliant ones, either. lol!

The gulls make lovely plopping noises as they land in the water, so I kept trying to get a splashy shot. I chose this one, although it's severely cropped and so the detail on the feathers isn't sharp enough. He did make a very pleasing plop.

There were some wee ducks (no idea what kind) who kept popping under water. I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to get a good shot of them popping under, having seen Chamaeleo's brilliant shot. My wee ducks didn't do the leap up first, so all I got was a mini whirlwind and a few tail feathers. I will spare you that. I did try to guess where they'd pop up, but that was even more impossible.

Going to see 'The Sapphires' this afternoon. Think I can also splash out on a big bag of Maltesers from my profits this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.