Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Carpets and coffee, then rugby

Another lovely day for the rugby, but I'm quite glad I shall be watching it from the comfort of my sofa, and can press the mute button if that rude booing starts up. Lots of rugby fans in town and several SA flags. And when it's over, I know I've got an extra two hours of life, not having to walk home via detours.

We went to investigate a wee studio that I didn't know existed until this week (that's the thing about living in a city - you keep discovering stuff) - Dovecot Studios. They have a carpet exhibition. And also a fabric exhibition. Both were excellent. Loads of new fabrics invented and made using odd materials and new methods. They were all beautiful. One wonders what materials we'll (well, not me) be wearing in a few decades.

The carpets were marvellous. I'd love to see them in the making. I think they're for sale, but you wouldn't put them on the floor to be walked on! There was a little black and white woven one by John Bellany in the cafe. It was about 30cms square. That would do! The price? £4,800!

The cafe looked very inviting (ie the scones and muffins looked scrumptious) but we went to BrewLab, as JR has not been there before. It's very very good. Very quirky and unfinished looking, with benches, sofas, old tables and brick walls. But good coffee, good service, papers, free wifi, and best of all - great music!

I know, I know - I go on about 'muzak'. Muzak is intrusive - squawky, screechy, twangy, yelly stuff played through tinny cheap sound system. The music was all of a certain genre - quiet, melodic, no loud yelly bits, no nasty surprises, and the sound system is fantastic. It's not on loud, so you can talk. This is my favourite cafe. JR declared it brilliant.

We popped into the Talbot Rice Gallery, as it was a cultural morning. It's a great wee gallery, with a rather strange quirky exhibition on the moment. Upstairs is about the French Revolution, with a film of a play of the revolution going on the whole time, so you heard the shouty crowd dialogue while you browsed the exhibits.

I'm back home, getting ready for more culture this afternoon - rugby. I'm not making any predictions, but I'm quietly optimistic after last week's three times over the opposition try line. This new Dutch bloke token Scot is good.

The Killing back on tonight! The excitement continues...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.