Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No bridge lights. Part of the cuts?

A beautiful day for a trip somewhere, possibly with water.

We set off for Blackness Castle, to use our Historic Scotland cards. Once again, you could just wander in and not bother paying, but of course we did go and show our cards. I feel, apart from Edinburgh Castle - which costs a ridiculous amount - that HS membership isn't as good value as the NT...

Quite a cute wee castle, with the whole thing, including the walls in the shape of a ship. We came back along by South Queensferry. It was mobbed. A nice Sunday and the whole of Edinburgh comes there, it seems. I hung about on the shore but it was quite cold, and JR didn't have her Kindle, so was getting agitated.

We went along to a restaurant which had a lovely view of the bridge. There were plenty of spare tables. In fact, there was only one group of people there. This should have caused second thoughts, as every other establishment in town was full!

Anyway, we had a nice view. JR was served what was possibly the worst pizza ever in the history of man. (It was an Italian restaurant!). Loads of grated cheese and fresh tomatoes had made the whole bit in the middle (ie not the edges, which were slightly overdone) soggy. It actually looked like the chunder on the footpath yesterday morning (that the perpetrator has not yet felt obliged to wash away...) Sorry - you may be having your tea (dinner/supper). But then again - I was. I kept looking at this soggy pinky mess, and somehow, my lasagne didn't seem so nice either.

We pointed this out to the waiter. He charged us half price for it. The wine was nice, and my water was nice (I was driving) we enthused. We were the only ones there as we left... I think it was my haste to leave that caused me to forget ... my camera bag! I was down on the beach before I realised it was missing. I was carrying my camera. This is a worrying precedent!

There was no lovely sunset. I was waiting for the bridge lights to come on... I wandered over to a young couple who were fiddling about with their tripods too. They must know about the lights. I asked if they were blippers, but no. And no, they didn't know anything about any lights. I said I'd leave and they'd probably come on then. I left.

I've just found out that my favourite group, Admiral Fallow, are playing in the Gardens at Hogmanay. And this is the first year we WON'T be here! How did that happen??

EDIT: Sorry, I didn't make it clear. I went back to get my camera bag. It was still sitting there. There was nobody else in the restaurant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.