Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Panic Over. Bath Ducks Found.

Popped out this morning to a well known DIY store to look for possible shelving. On the way, I spied Craigmillar Castle in the sunshine. I’v never been there before, so I took a wee detour. Discovered that I didn’t have my Historic Scotland card, but the young lady kindly believed me!

What a great castle, with marvellous battlements and views for miles.

When I went to continue my journey to my destination, the DIY Store, I realised that I couldn’t buy anything anyway, as I didn’t have my cards with me. (I just check that I have my camera when I leave the house). So I came home.

We’ve been making ourselves more at home, hanging paintings, putting things away in the new cupboard. We used the picture rail to hang a painting. I had thought this would be easier. Er, no. Many bad words were spoken. Back to hammer and nails for the rest.

Still boxes unopened, but I made a great discovery today. A coat that I haven’t seen for a while, and couldn’t remember where I’d last seen it (I couldn't have gone out in it and returned without it. Could I...) turned up in a box helpfully marked, ‘Assorted’. Along with the yellow ducks for the bath and my wellies. It’s like Christmas!

I’m not keeping up with comments as well as I should, apologies, as there always seems to be other pressing housie things to do… I will catch up soon.

With a wee break for the rugby this avo...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.