Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Greyfriars Kirk goes disco

This morning I was fortunate to attend the press launch of the celebrations for zhogmanay and New Year in Edinburgh. The last time I was in Greyfriars Kirk it was for the classical music concerts during the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. This morning's experience was quite different.

As we entered the space, the Pet Shop Boys "West End Girls" was playing and the stained glass windows of the church were lit with amazing coloured lights washing the walls on either side. It made for some spectacular photo opportunities (unfortunately as I'm in Crail as I write this, and without my photos from my Canon, I can't share the best one here).

The launch certainly was done well. By the time we'd heard about all the fun and games planned we were all really excited and trying to work out how we could get to the big street party.

From a family perspective, I'm hoping that we'll go to the Torchlight Procession on the 30th December - which has a new route from Chambers Street, down North Bridge and up to Calton Hill (as Tram works hamper the normal route). Much as I'd love to go to the street party, it might not be possible, but the entertainments for Lucky 13 sound like fun - from 1:30 on New Year's Day culminating in a Festival celebration in early evening.

Edinburgh sounds like the place to be this year. Do you have plans yet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.