Rock 'n' roll

There is the romantic notion of a band, in its van, travelling the length and breadth of the country, showing up to play a gig to a room full - or not so full - of people before packing up and driving home through the night to get back to the morning's day jobs. 

When I was in a band, I think we did that once. Every other gig we played was in London, apart from this one show at Warwick University. (Our first, actually, now I come to think about it.) Ric (the bassist) and I had seen baseball caps we liked at a shop on, I think, the Oxford Road or maybe Tottenham Court Road, so after work on Friday we drove through the middle of town to buy them en route to the gig. 

(Imagine that: driving through London on a Friday afternoon being an option as a route to Warwick. These days, you'd drive into London and not get back out until Saturday. This was 1988, though.)

I mention all this because today the Minx and I drove to Cambridge where she made an excellent half hour presentation and then we got back in the car and came home again. Not that I'm complaining; driving long distances with the Minx is one of my favourite things, although I have many preferred routes to the A14.

I took this shot our of the car window on our way back up the M6. Look at the state of the footbridge!

****
-13.5 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'The Liars' Gospel' by Naomi Alderman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.