Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Gutenberg

A lovely day for a trip out to Kendal, a 65 mile round trip. Quiet a long time since I've ventured that far away on my own! Well done, me!

I managed to get booked onto a free seminar to listen to how next month's WordPress upgade to 5.0 and the new Gutenberg styling will affect our websites. We were shown which plug-ins to install to block it if we wished.

The main thrust was that it shouldn't break them but some themes and plug-ins may not work and designers of free material may give up trying to offer support if theirs fail. My Divi theme is paid for so the lecturer thought our Art By Camera website would have no problems converting. I am also using a similar method of site building so he also thought I would manage the new system well.

Some of us were able to use a fake temporary site to upload a clone of our sites so we could test that everything still clicked and banged worked as it should.

No such luck for me, the hotel's Broadband couldn't manage the size of my site. Nevermind, I can try at home.

For some Gutenberg may seem like a mountain to overcome, but will it be a good one?

Incidentally, I shocked the lady beside me. She didn't know what her husband's WordPress password was and I was able to tell her! Yes, it is shocking. The tutor also recommended "password safes". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.