Icebreaking Narrowboat

My hairdresser has moved premises so, instead of a stroll in the Botanics after a trim, I shall be exploring a new area - well, not so new as I spent a few happy years in a flatshare nearby.

The day being bright and clear I thought the Leamington Lifting Bridge might be good for a blip, and so it proved. I had a couple of decent photos on the memory card when the road gates were closed, the bridge lifted and a narrowboat emerged from the basin. This was no mean feat as the canal itself was frozen and the boat was obliged to plough through the ice to make any progress.

It transpired that the boat belongs to The Four Sisters, and is available for rent. One of the sisters can be seen at the tiller, Mum is at the prow indicating which way to steer (look in large). The object of leaving the basin was to empty their waste, which, in a similar way to the trains, is not permitted in the mooring area but must be discharged in the canal. I didn't wait to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.