Gritty in the City

When I get to the office in the morning, there's often a huge plume of smoke rising, sometimes catching the light beautifully. It's been brilliantly blipped before by Anni BikerBear and while I've tried many times to include it in morning photo's I've never got a good composition. There's always been something in the way. Buildings, you know, big things, bricks...

It's been in my notebook for a while and as I was in town an hour before I needed to be at the office, I decided it was about time I bagged that mother, so I went 'Blip Hunting'!

I could see my quarry - it wasn't tricky - the plume was high and golden, but I had no idea how to reach it, how far away it was, what perils I might have to face to get close.

It was rush hour, there were sirens and horns and the smell of impatient engines wafting through the crisp air, exhaust fumes creating fog like warm breath.

I was in the city, I was feeling gritty, I was humming the theme tune to Taggart, I was ready to hit the streets.

I headed left as it looked right (err) and it was right as I got closer to the prey. Dereliction suddenly blocked my view but I took a side street past a sandwich shop that I suspect had a mortality rate. I looked left but too late I was blinded by the sunlight. (and yes I was revved up like a deuce, another runner in the night.), but there it was!

Gleaming like a golden idol; as the smoke rose it formed faces of devilment intent on scaring me away, but no, I was humming the Taggart theme tune, I was *singing* the tune, and I wasn't going to stop now!

I crept closer, closer and got that sucker! :o)

Then slipped on my backside on the ice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.