The second half of life..

By twigs

Mrs Blackbird

I know - I've been away a long time.  I haven't forgotten about blip, in fact, I've still been taking pictures - of sorts - though not one every day.  I've just found myself in a bit of a hole.  I'm slowly crawling out and am expecting to be back on deck and blipping regularly once again very soon.  Just got to make that last, final ascent over the top and away from the edge.......got to find that fresh air, freedom, challenge and excitement that a new chapter brings.

I've called it my metamorphosis.  After a lifetime as a caterpillar, chomping all day long in order to prepare foundations for the beautiful rebirth, I discovered one day, quite by accident, that I had actually stopped chomping and was beginning to withdraw into myself.  The chrysalis phase........wrapped and secure but nothing really happening, at least from a bystanders viewpoint.  My chrysalis phase saw little visible external action but instead, heaps of internal being, connecting, reconnecting, growing, changing and preparing for the rebirth.  And the rebirth is imminent........the butterfly is beginning to stir.

Meanwhile, in the back garden, I've been trying to reduce the overhang of a neighbour's particularly ugly tree.  Yesterday, as a chopped through branches and leaves, I spied a nest.  There didn't appear to be anyone at home, but I didn't want to disturb it just in case.  Today, I resumed the hack attack and, from atop my ladder, as I grabbed a branch, it shook the nest and up popped mamma bird's head.  I was so taken aback, but she didn't respond - only glared at me a little.  As you do when you're an emerging butterfly, I raced indoors, grabbed my phone (I can hardly believe I chose my phone camera!) and quietly climbed back up the ladder.  As I got to the top mamma bird shuffled a little and then up popped a large, demanding mouth.......and then another!  I took a handful of pics then quietly climbed back down the ladder.  I think my hack attack will have to stop now until these wee ones are fledged and no longer need the security of the nest.  New beginnings all round :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.