Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Surprised by sun!

I love this family. I featured them once before, and they are, if possible, even more in love with each other now than they were then. We were uncertain we could have our planned photo-shoot today, as the forecast promised only rain, but we got a couple of hours of blasting sunlight and I took a break from writing so we could meet at the marina for pictures. Their closeness and warmth are palpable in all their shots, but the textures seem to me more delicious in mono.

My thanks to littleonion for telling me about a wonderful site called Writers for Libraries, which has just published one of my funniest poems, bless them. The reason for the site's existence is not so cheery; cities in the UK are losing their libraries. I am furious about that, and I hope many of you will send poems, organize yourselves to protest, and do what you can to keep those libraries open. (We were upset in Portland when our libraries had to begin closing on Mondays because of funding shortages, but we just agreed to tax ourselves more in order to restore seven-day service and keep them all open.)

The writing that is currently requiring almost all my attention should be finished by Wednesday, so I hope to resume regular service then. I must put my back into the work (along with butt, brain, and assorted other parts), so I can't hope to comment much, not even to say thank you for what you may say here, but I hope you will rail against "austerity" and the closing of libraries in your comments. I am only one of many who enjoy your comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.