Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Wasp eyes

Continuing with the eye macro series. This is one shot that I wanted but realistically did not expect to get. A year ago there is no way you would have seen this shot and not just because of the equipment upgrade either. Focusing on a wasp from eight inches while it stares you down, takes a bit of nerve. I only got one click at this, as the yellow devil gave up and flew off.

I have featured this menacing looking creature before. Although it looks dangerous, I know from the last twelve months of safari experience that this species of wasp is not aggressive and safe to approach. In fact, very few of the wasps here are aggressive, I feel safer here than picnicking on the village green back in the UK! Having said that, there are one or two that you really don't want to mess with.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.