Haikography

By JanBee

Remembering Mum

Love and lullabies,
You were a beautiful song -
Whose tune still lingers.


It's was my Mum's birthday today so I lit a candle for her. I like this picture of Mum and Dad, it was taken in 1985 at Glyndebourne. Mark was working there at the time and we got them tickets to go and see the brilliant production of Britten's Albert Herring.

My mum loved music and some of my strongest memories of her are of her singing. She was always singing around the house, in choirs and sang beautiful lullabies to her grandchildren when they were small. I have sort of absorbed all those songs as if by osmosis and they are part of the fabric of my life too.

Sadly she suffered from Alzheimer's for several years before she died, and the person she was, was gradually lost to us. But one of the last things to go was being able recognise songs and sing along......

Thinking of you on your birthday, Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.