Sydney or Bust 1

Those who have been following my pictures on other web gallery systems over the years, will know that (in cahoots with some walking buddies) I periodically take off on photographic sagas, often accumulating pictures and maps over a period of months. Some of these exploits are detailed in my Pbase Galleries.

With all these blippers around the world setting off to walk down streets, I thought I'd get going on a project that I've had in mind for some time. As most of you know, I live in Blackheath, a Blue Mountains town situated some 112 kilometres from the centre of the Sydney CBD. If I want to go to Sydney I usually take the train or drive into town. One way or another it usually takes about two hours.

Just for a bit of exercise and to get a few pictures, this time I thought I'd just WALK. Over the next few months, once a week I shall be taking two (maybe three) hours at a time to hike the way in sections which should get me to Circular Quay sometime in March ... or thereabouts. I shall take 20 or so pictures each time to show what it's like along the way and publish them to a Pbase gallery along with some brief comments.

If you get the time, I'd love you to come walking with me by visiting the Sydney or Bust Gallery. You click on a thumbnail and then move along from picture to picture. For those who have never travelled between Sydney and the Blue Mountains, you may find the journey interesting.

Today's section takes you from outside my house to the suburban streets of Katoomba - a distance of about 10 kilometres. This is potentially the most dangerous part of the entire Sydney journey - as the extract above illustrates. This part of the Great Western Highway is very much a country road with hardly a place for pedestrians. The traffic is VERY close !!!

Go on. Why not take a walk with me from time to time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.