Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Sunday Thoughts

At the end of every year I hunt through a maze of next year's calendars looking for just the right one. They come in all varieties: any topic and every shape. I've looked at many. None of them have a Month of Sundays.

If I had to choose any day of the seven to live again and again, certainly it would be Sunday. It is a day that begins with a full-bodied cup of coffee enjoyed at a slightly slower pace than other days and then opens to a wide horizon of meaningful moments.

Without exception it includes gathering with eternity people (Eccl.3:11). Sundays also include a delicious meal and moments spent in leisure at a place I love -- home, and/or the opportunity to get out to some place that is rarely on my week-day agenda. So if I had the opportunity to have a month of any day, you can bet I'd choose Sunday.

When the morning concludes, I enter an afternoon geography of discovery. Unlike other afternoons, it is free from a rigorous agenda and routine maps. Sometimes I find myself struggling with the tension of wanting to be a home-body "nesting" and the opposite urge to be a wanderer "seeing and doing." To borrow a thought from a favorite author, Scott Russell Sanders--settling or moving -- place or no place--is the decision. Both are fun and both can be rewarding. An afternoon reading the Sunday paper or a lovely drive to Laguna Beach just to look and see -- both are usually options only on Sunday. I'd choose a month of those afternoons. Wouldn't you?

I haven't forgotten Sunday food--yum! My childhood memories are filled with the culinary delights of Sundays. From early morning gooey pastry, to the middle day meal, and early evening dessert, Sunday food is comfort food. In winter when the house is closed tight, the air fills with the hearty aroma of beef roasting, ham baking, spaghetti or enchiladas warming. In summer with the windows open wide and the breeze tickling my skin, I breathe in the smoky scent of meat sizzling on the outdoor grill. My favorite, though, is dessert--hot baked pie in the chilly months and cold ice cream in the heat of summer. Sunday food captures everyone's attention. I would definitely vote for a month of those food-filled days.

So on this Sunday I'm thinking about a calendar with a special month. If you find it, let me know. I'm looking for a Month of Sundays.

Well, it's early Sunday evening in Southern California (with no rain yet). Hope you have a great week.

Rosie, aka Carol


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.