PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Another delivery

After the astonishing response to my coalman blip yesterday, there was no way I was going to match it today, especially as the weather has been grey, damp and miserable and I have been out most of the day, spending time with my grandaughter. .

So a quick blip. Here is the result of another delivery, which came last night. It's a pity that I couldn't blip the delivery itself, as it was not without event. The chap reversed his truck full of logs down our drive, which is on a slope and then he shouted something to me. As he is very broad Cumbrian and the engine was still going, it took me a while to figure what he was saying. Apparently the truck didn't have a working hand brake, so I was to put logs behind the wheels to stop it rolling back into the garage door. This accomplished, he got out and tipped the logs into the pile you see here. I feared for my car, as he negotiated his return to the road, minus a hand brake.

Now all that remains to be done is for someone (not me) to barrow the logs round to the back of the house and to stack them in the log stores.

I'm not tagging this blip with One Street, as it has little to do with the street itself. However, it is linked to yesterday's blip in relation to many people's surprise that we still burn coal.

Our village does not have mains gas, so most people run their central heating with oil (which of course is also delivered) and then burn coal and logs either in an open fire or a stove. We have oil-fired central heating and a fantastic stove that extremely efficiently burns coal, but mostly logs, and heats the whole of what is a large house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.