The Train Now Leaving ...

is the 10.38 to Grosmont, For the trainspotters it's a 'rat' a lightweight, multi-purpose Sulzer Type 2  BR Class 25 No. D7628 named 'Sybilla' by North York Moors Railways.

We left Levisham after breakfast and headed into Pickering, I needed fuel and prayed that the extreme gradients in this part of the world wouldn't leave me stranded. We drove through some lovely misty scenes as we came through the last of the North York moors and I needn't have worried we arrived at the filling station with no trouble.

I've seen some super images from Grosmont but we passed through there yesterday evening, I hoped that Pickering station would have some of the same charm. It does but it's a shame that the service this morning was being pulled by a vintage diesel rather than a steam locomotive and some of the passengers seemed to be thinking the same.  I've just added an extra which includes the attractive footbridge at at Pickering Station. I've added it because I've just noticed its distinctive shape and decoration in tonight's episode of the BBC's ABC Murders. What a coincidence!

We set off for Cheltenham and soon ran into slow traffic. There was a shunt in Malton, no doubt caused by driving too fast in the conditions. We got past that as the emergency services arrived and progressed slowly until we joined the A1(M) where we joined a 150 mile traffic jam which lasted until about 30 miles before Cheltenham. I think everybody in the country must be on the roads today.

We're here safely now and that's the important thing. We'll have a look around Cheltenham tomorrow before heading for home.

Many thanks for all your comments, stars and hearts on my Kelpies blip. It's still sitting nicely on page 1 of the populars. That's pretty good for my journal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.