Waiting Out the Storm

Today I'm blipping earlier than usual; my evening will be taken up doing a sleep test, wired up to various machinery in an uncomfortable room that is simultaneously too hot and too cold. It is a test for sleep apnea. No lay person has the remotest idea how sleep can be measured in an environment that is completely hostile to getting any rest. Did I mention that I was not looking forward to this experience?

So that's how I came to be out in the front yard between morning raindrops. I was initially struck by the vibrant color of this maple bark, but as I puttered around at the base of the tree I saw the real treasure: a very soaking wet damselfly clinging to the trunk. I've always wondered where bugs go in the rain, but this answer doesn't strike me as very pleasant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.