OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Marwick Head

A poor day for photography in terms of the light- as in, there was very little about! I went to the hide at RSPB The Loons but it was very quiet though 13 fieldfares were in the bushes there. Walk to Marwick- the usual numbers of greylag, redshank, wigeon etc. On the cliffs were at least 200 guillemot. They'll probably disappear again for a while before reappearing to breed on the cliffs. a peregrine was hunting over the cliffs, and a hen harrier over the fields. I saw a largish seabird near a gannet and thought it might be a bonxie, but in the camera it looked like a sooty shearwater. I managed a couple of shaky shots before it was out of sight. My usual go-to-expert later agreed with my opinion, my first of that species in Orkney! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.