... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

A Robin on a Frosty Pontoon

Crisper, colder, and cuter in large ("L")!

Yay, a robin! I've wanted to blip one for ages, but recently I've only caught them through glass, or at a distance, or on a day when I've had a more blip-worthy shot...
Today I got two blip-worthy robin photos!

I visited Mount Pond on Clapham Common at 9:30: the sun was low in the sky, and there was a beautiful sepia tone to the light! I photographed the swans and cygnets, and gulls, coots, and ducks slithering around on the ice... A mother with two children appeared and started throwing bread to the gulls; I love photographing the gulls wheeling around, hovering, and squabbling over the food. Then this curious little robin appeared! By this stage (9:50) my hands were totally freezing in spite of my gloves, but it was so cute and curious, and was bouncing around on the ground. I followed it from grasses to post to fence to pontoon, and here was the shot: it landed on the frosted planks and cocked its head...

p.s. Alternative robin. Same robin, different setting.

p.p.s. I posted yesterday's blip (Ice skating after dark) rather late in the day (later than usual), and this one rather earlier than usual, so please do look back a day if you've a mo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.