CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Not quite still life

There were tasks to be done this morning which included a sunny drive up and out of the valley to the farm shop near Bisley. Helena wanted to select a Christmas tree and this was the only day she was free. We met Ashley and his brother Keith, who farm the land there, and Ashley offered to take me out to the patch of land where they grow their own Christmas trees so choose I select one still in the ground. I thought it would make a good blip, but another day as Ashley said I would need wellies if I was to survive. Luckily Helena found an unique tree whose shape she liked.

I went off to Gloucester to buy food from several shops. I was close to Sharpness Canal, where it approaches Gloucester Docks, so went down to the canal side as the sun was setting swiftly in the blue and cloudless sky. That area has always been industrial, close to the port. Old buildings were pulled down to make new trading estates, although some of the classic canal side warehouses still just about survive.

On the opposite bank to me was a large cinema complex, a place I refuse to visit, as it is not my idea of how to experience movies. But the reflections I saw were rather attractive and changed second by second as the water quietly lapped across the canal after a narrowboat had passed slowly downstream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.