Meeting another frisbee lover

After a slow start on a rather sleepy Sunday morning, we finally got going on our way to Westonbirt Arboretum for a 1pm meeting. We were of course late by the time we finally met up with Kinda Horrigans and her two children.

They had driven down today from Nottingham so that Nick could attend a special meeting at the Arboretum. He was already busy when at last we met up, so we all set off for a walk around the new arboretum. We hadn't met before, so we spent time saying 'hello' as you do whilst ambling along the paths between amazing trees.

Maddy had made a wonderful painting for us which she gave us when we arrived. What a treat for us, as we both like artwork made by friends. We gave Maddy a game to play with panoramic cards that can be joined in endless ways. Felix got a mini frisbee which I found in my old collection. I had heard that he loves to throw frisbees, so I thought he would like this one as he can play with inside too.

As we walked I showed him different ways to hold and throw the little frisbee, and later on we played with my normal frisbee disc. He kept practising all the time as we walked and got observably better at throwing it a farther and farther, and with greater control. Eventually I brought out a more aero-dynamic variety of disc, although technically it is not actually a'frisbee', and showed him different types of throws with them both.

I had ny camera of course, and couldn't resist taking pictures of him throwing. I do love to see when people suddenly 'get' how to throw a disc and what a buzz it is for them to make it fly well. I think I left a spark of interest in him that will stay with him for a while. Hopefully we can meet again for another session.

We finally returned to the cafe to meet Nick for a quick chat, but Helena hadn't been feeling very well for some time and she wanted to go home. I'm sorry we didn't have more time, but it was good to meet Sarah, Maddy, Felix and Nick. I'm really glad that blip has introduced me to some fine people this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.