sp33dway

By sp33dway

glow

i felt the need to go for a run this morning, my first in about 10 days, and it's amazing how much more positive i feel about the coming months already, thanks mostly to the (f-f-f-f-freezingly cold) morning air lashing my senses and the sight of the winter frost being lit up by that awesome sunrise. the five fingers seemed to be a million times better at gripping the slippybits than my regular running shoes too, helping me feel king of the road for half an hour (a bonus as i haven't really felt king of anything lately and was half expecting to pirouette over and twot my knees at the slightest hint of ice on the road).

i'm still struggling to come to terms with what Dad will be going through soon (made more real when the date came through yesterday for another pre-op CT scan), but i'm not going to be much help without keeping headstrong, so in a way maybe this sunrise is more fitting than i first realised. an epiphany even.

SO: i've decided to sign up for a half marathon next year (i'm thinking Edinburgh) to help raise some funds for the folks over at Macmillan. i'm hoping the distraction will help me like it did back then. wish me luck.

***
this is my 1000th blip. it's taken me far too long to hit this tally given I started blipping in 2006 but hey, it's been a blast. thank you to anyone who's dropped on by and especially to those who read the words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.