The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Freiston At Night

I've done some bonkers things in my time since I got interesting in bird watching. I've sat in freezing cold hides, driven to Slimbridge in -10 degree freezing fog, and got up at silly o clock for a Dawn Chorus. I added another one tonight.

Dawn went to pick her mum up from work, and do a little shopping, so I asked her to drop me off at Freiston Shore. I knew she wouldn't get back until quarter to five, so it would be pretty dark when she picked me up. I hoped to see some Barn Owls, as I have down there before. I lucked out on them. There was a decent amount of wildfowl at Freiston as opposed to yesterdays visit to Frampton. There were plenty of Lawpings, Canadian Geese, Redshanks and Greylag Geese.

There was a proper winter sunset as I sat looking out over the saltmarshes, the Sony WX7 works much better for these kinds of shots I find, probably would have got something similar if I had my wide angle lens on me, but I only came equipped with my 500mm.

Dawn was late getting there, and didn't actually arrive until 5pm, by which time it was pitch dark, but the night sky was worth sitting there in the cold waiting for. Also a huge skein of geese came into the land on the lagoon. No idea what they were, but the sound of those thousands of pairs of wings flying over was like rolling thunder.

The rest of the day was family stuff .. which is a euphanism for eating and drinking a lot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.