The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Having A Field Day

A quick visit to Frampton Marshes today.

Dawn went to pick her brother up from Grantham Station. There is only two people (plus parents) allowed around the bed, so I opted to be dropped off at Frampton en route.

Dawn's brother moved to Australia a couple of years ago now, and this is the first time he has come home this year. It was the reason that we came over to Lincolnshire this week. William was an unexpected bonus, and thank you for all the comments yesterday. I will paste the entry onto Julies Facebook Wall so she can see them.

As we pulled into the car park we spooked a large flock of Fieldfare and Redwing out of the hedgerow. I reckon there were about a thousand of them. I immediately headed to that area of the reserve and hung around. I managed to get a couple of half decent photos of them, but then the light went poor, so I just sat on the bench and let them fly over me as the cars spooked them as we did. The sound was amazing!

I had a wander around the rest of the reserve, but it was really quiet, even one of the warders said they expected more around than there was. Still, it was nice to get back out on a nature reserve after the past few weeks of carnage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.