The second half of life..

By twigs

Breathtaking

J, M and family had school and work so I decided I would head to 'new' territories.  Before leaving I took up J's suggestion - get a coffee then just sit on the sofa, look at the view and wallow in the peacefulness.  I can totally see how this would be a treasured time - stunning!  Big windows, open space, mountains, a hot air balloon floating by........and Baxter the wonder-dog insisting he shared this time with me too!  All good though - he's a cute pooch who can't be ignored.

Did a few chores (buying some RUC's - I was actually over-limit...oopsie! -  and checking and filling up the gas bottle).  Also had a little retail therapy before heading towards Glenorchy.

The road to Glenorchy, running, as it does, along the edge of Lake Wakatipu, is rich in stunning views.  There were, of course, a fair number of stops including a late lunch stop at a gorgeous wee spot (12 mile Creek??) right on the shoreline.  This particular stopping spot was shared with a small tour group who were being given a 'virtual' LOTR tour.   Quite a few LOTR locations are right here, in this picture it appears.  

Glenorchy itself seems bigger than I remember it (from the only other time I've ever been there, nearly 20 years ago!  Maybe I shouldn't be surprised!)  I didn't stay long though as I'd decided my stopping spot tonight would be at Sylvan, a DoC campground on the road towards the Routeburn Track.  After about 5kms of dusty, unsealed road I was hugely surprised to roll into a pristine-looking, individual-parking-bays-with-grassed-areas-attached site.  Fantastic!!  There are about 15 or 20 other vehicles here too so despite it's apparent remoteness, it's obviously pretty popular. 

And to top the day off, the clouds cleared to reveal a crystal clear night sky which can be seen in 'extras'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.