The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

My Kind of Town

I did not expect to find myself in Chicago this evening. I tried to navigate one solid week without travel. But, life happens. And should your life, on any given evening, take you to an unexpected place, you would be blessed to find yourself in Chicago. I lived here for a very short period of my life and I quickly fell into an urban love affair with the city. It is a magnificent metropolis and, to my account, one of the greatest cities on Earth. Especially when it is dressed-up for the Holidays. Not even the North Pole or Rockefeller Center can compete with the "Magnificent Mile" in December. Michigan Avenue is covered in Christmas bling and many of the buildings are bathed in golden light and the colors of Christmas (which also happens to be the colors of Italy).

My favorite spot on Michigan Avenue is the bridge that crosses over the Chicago River. When you gaze eastward from the bridge towards the Wabasha Bridge and beyond, the receding lines of the river collide into a fusion of architecture and light. It is like Lego Land for adults. When I stand in this spot in the evening, I have to remind myself that a bit of sleep is an essential element in life. And that if you "sleep quickly", you can return to see the sun rise over this very same river. This is an enchanting spot. Tonight, I had no time to linger here but I was delighted to cross the bridge this evening after a meeting and catch a quick (but marginal) image using the pillar of the bridge as my impromptu tripod. To have the time to blip today felt like a luxury good.

I would like to thank so many of you that have reached out to me in various ways during my absence from blip. Your kindness has been greatly appreciated. I am not sure if it is my age or the current circumstances but I used to have boundless energy no matter the tasks or emotions at hand. Yet, the last few weeks, I have felt like an over-tired puppy, eager to play but too exhausted to make good on my promise. As the Holidays approach (and only one trip left until then), I see a bit of light at the end of the tunnel and I am hopeful to have the time and energy to be back with you all in a meaningful way. Until then, thanks for your kindness.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.